Update, August 31, 2009

There was a movie about a novice farmer in Iowa starring Kevin Costner called “The Field of Dreams.”  In the movie, Ray Kinsella (Kevin Costner) hears a soft whisper of a ball player called Shoeless Joe saying, “If you build it, they will come.”  Ray Kinsella built a ball field in his corn fields, and the ghosts of the ball players came.

And I’m an Iowan.

Americans United for Health Care and Insurance Reform is our “Field of Dreams.”  We have built it, they will come.  The response since our Press Release issued this morning has been tremendous.  They are coming — from Seattle, WA, Michigan, Maine, New York, New Jersey, North Carolina, Florida, Indiana, Delaware, Georgia, Virginia, Maryland and Texas.

We have built it, they are coming.

Kudo’s to SaraBeth and Kittykago for their excellent work on DailyKOS and all the Twitters and FaceBook enthusiasts and my committee of 5 who have steered me in the right direction and kept me on the road when I was veering in the wrong direction.

Keep the pressure up.  Get the Press Release to all your local newspapers and media contacts.

Thank you, for all you have done and will continue to do for health care and insurance reform.

Julie

12 Responses

  1. I’d like to know whether there are any groups chartering buses to attend this event. Specifically, whether there’s one going from Chicago.

    • I know that they are looking into chartering a bus from CT and TX. Chartering can reduce costs by up to 70%. With Chicago being “Obama Territory” I am sure there are others from Chicago and Northern Indiana who plan on attending. Do you have any local blogs where you can put feelers out on. Hopefully tonight I will download everyone who has signed up and I’ll see if there is anyone who has signed up from Chicagoland. I’ll get back to you.

      • I haven’t heard anything yet, and we’re running out of time . . .

    • We have 3 who have responded from Chicago. I’ve sent each an email. Will keep you posted.

  2. If we ask …… they will come!

    The time is NOW for reform. The Place is your STATE.

    It would be awesome, just plain brilliant if everyone in this country took a plane, train bus or car to DC, but that ain’t gonna happen. *sigh*

    However …. you can attend local events, http://www.marchforhealthcare.com/events or start an event yourself.

    Most important, write your politicians and tell them you DEMAND Health Care Reform NOW! (especially the Blue Dog Democrates)
    Hey …. there sitting there because of your vote!

  3. I will not be able to walk since I am in a power chair; but, I will be able to ride in my chair if that is permissible. Please let me know.

    • We welcome you with open arms! If you need help post again closer to the rally and I will arrange for someone to help you.

  4. Jalil

    Of course you should come. This reform is as much for you as it is for all American citizens.

    If you would note, quite a view folks were in wheel chairs at the Saturday, very successful rallies.

  5. These sites should be informed of this rally, they have big readership and moveon.org has a huge mailing list. Perhaps they were included on your release list?

    http://www.prwatch.org/

    http://www.moveon.org
    http://www.democrats.org/ (I sent them a message with a link to this site and asked that they put any and all march info and a general call to all Democrats get out and show their support on the 13th, at home or in Washington.)

    • I’ve contacted MoveOn.org and democrats.org but not prwatch.org. Will do that now. Thanks for the heads up and keep me on the straight and narrow!

      • Be sure and include Code Pink in your coalition!

        http://www.codepinkalert.org

      • You’re doing great! Please don’t hesitate to ask for help!

        (I sent your press release to Rachel Maddow…don’t know if she’ll say anything)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

