Details

Sunday, September 13, 2009

12N-5pm

Washington, D.C.

Arrival – about one hour prior to start.

Meet at the Lincoln Memorial and march down the National Mall to the steps of the Capitol Building.

There is parking on the back side of the Capitol Building and handicap parking near the Washington Monument.

It would be wonderful if one person can spear head each state and get estimates of what a chartered bus would cost.  It looks like we will have many more participants than are signing up.  By the phone calls and emails I’m getting I hearing lots of, “I haven’t signed up but we’re coming.  What do I do about…..”

17 Responses

  1. is there a way to also do a “virtual march” of some kind? Some of us would love to be there but can’t do it for health reasons.

  2. Has America United for Health Care, or some other group, obtained the necessary permits??

    • I’ve called the WDC Police and sent messages to the Park Authorities and Capitol Police. I was told by the WDC Police that a permit is not needed for a rally. Also, I am waiting to see if Congressman Fattah can get a House Resolution passed on 9/9 to make the entire Capitol and Mall area available. If not, I will purchase any necessary permit, but I don’t think it will be necessary.

    • Although the organizers are continuing to sign people up for the march, they do not have a permit, the area is reserved for another group, and the US Park Service says everyone coming to the march will be turned away. To verify contact the National Parks Permit Office by calling (202) 619-7225.

      • Our permit is with the Capitol Police. We are ready to rally at the Upper Senate Park.

  3. Thank you so much for your lightening quick response. There has been a lot of rumble about this march, but very little reliable information. THANK YOU so much for leading the charge here.

    BTW, Add Kansas to your list of attendees. We’re coming!

  4. healthcareforamericanow.org is saying that the march is at 10am on the 13th, are you both suppost to be organizing a march together or is it a completely different march?? Juse wondering cause Im coming up from Florida for this march and want to be sure of the time.

    • This is a totally different march with different organizers. Though, I’m sure we’ll run into each other!

      • Ok. Thank you for letting me know! Well, I havent decided which one to go to yet, so… maybe Ill see you! Keep up the good work!! : )

      • We need lots and lots of bodies and respectful but passionate people. The more organizations represented, the better!!

      • I’m no expert on these things, but is that wise? The opposition is highly coordinated in their astroturf operation, by the RNC, Fox, et. al. Wouldn’t it be best to have a united rally and make a bigger impression?

        • The rally 9/12 is not our rally. Many of our people will be coming for the weekend. The Glen Beck page is up in case any of there were interested in both rally’s. I appreciate your concern. The rally on 9/13 looks like it will be 6,000+ and people are registering every day. Health insurance is not a privilege, it’s a right.

    • You sold me! Ill be there plus 2!!

  5. Looking for Julie:
    Julie, Suzanne Aldrich suggested I get in touch with you. I am trying desperately to figure some way out to get there from Seattle with very little money and in a way that will allow me to dialyze every night. I would like to come and speak about what happens when you don’t have health care. I am a living exemplar of the need for real health care reform that includes a public option (and single payer would be even better, but that may be another fight). In early 2004 I lost my COBRA due to an inability to pay for it, caused by my employer not paying me and going out of business owing me over $8000 in back pay. I had one functional kidney, hypertension, and diabetes. I needed to see a doctor to get two generic prescriptions refilled, but was turned away for lack of insurance and funds (they wanted $145; my insurance had paid $50 and we scraped that together with great difficulty, but they refused me). I finally saw a doctor again a year and a half later, but my diabetes and hypertension had run wild in that year and a half, and the damage to my kidney was sufficient to cause me to be diagnosed with chronic kidney disease in early 2007 and go on dialysis in January 2008. Now I need a transplant or dialysis to live. I am hoping that by speaking I might demonstrate the need for health care reform and show that it can happen to anybody. (I also hope against hope that some wonderful person will volunteer a kidney, but that’s a long shot.)

    Please contact me at my email rivercs at gmail dotcom or phone me at a number I’ll be happy to provide if you email me. If you know of anyone who is coming from Washington state or Oregon, I can meet them somewhere…

    All the best,
    River
    dialysis patient, no SSDI yet, still waiting!

  6. 6000+ is getting there. I hope we end up with 10,000+

    • I’m a graphic designer and have created a flyer publicizing Sunday’s march, to hand out at metro stops and post at intersections. But I don’t know whom to contact to distribute this, and whether I can put the Americans United for Health Care web address on there (need authorization, obviously).

      Could someone please contact me so I can get these posters about before it’s too late? I’d attach the flyer here, but there’s no attachment option. Thanks!

  7. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you really know what
    you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my web site
    =). We could have a link trade arrangement among us

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

